He lost his sight there and then.

One day Abdullah ibn Zayd al-Ansari (RadiAllahu Anhu) came to the Messenger of Allahﷺ  and said, in tears:

‘O Messenger of Allah! You are dearer to me than my own soul, my property, my children and my family. If I were not able to come and see you I would wish to die”.

Upon this the Messenger of Allahﷺ said: ‘Why are you crying?”

Abdullah ibn Zayd (RadiAllahu Anhu) answered:“O Messenger of Allah! I cried because I was thinking that one day you will die and we will die. You will be in a high state with the other prophets in Paradise while we will be in a lower place, even if we do go to Heaven and so I was crying thinking that I was not going to be able to see you”.

“O Messenger of Allah! I cried because I was thinking that one day you will die and we will die. You will be in a high state with the other prophets in Paradise while we will be in a lower place, even if we do go to Heaven and so I was crying thinking that I was not going to be able to see you”.

The Prophetﷺ, that ocean of compassion was silent for a while and did not reply. At that point the following verse was revealed:

‘Whoever obeys Allah and the Messenger will be with those whom Allah has blessed: the Prophets and the truthful ones, the martyrs and the righteous. What excellent company such people are!’ (Nisa 4:69)

One day when Abdullah ibn Zayd (RadiAllahu Anhu) was working in his garden his son came running breathlessly and brought the news that the Prophet had passed away. Abdullah’s world turned upside down. He made the following prayer:

“O Allah! Take away my sight so that I do not see anything other than the only thing I love, the Messenger of Allah”

The prayer of Abdullah was answered and he lost his sight there and then. (See Qurtubi, V, 271).

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: He lost his sight there and then. | Dpressedmuslimah

Leave a Reply

